Ole Miss Business | University of Mississippi
Apply Now

Insurance Symposium

Since 1995, the Ole Miss RMI program has hosted the annual Ole Miss Insurance Symposium that serves the insurance industry and allows the students to learn more about the industry while also providing them with the opportunity to interact with risk management and insurance professionals. The Symposium is regularly attended by nearly 200 participants, and has recently featured nationally-recognized guest speakers such as William R. Berkley (W.R. Berkley Corp), Jay Fishman (Travelers), J. Patrick Gallagher (Arthur J. Gallagher), Michael Hughes (Safeco Corp.), Shaun Kelly (Ironshore), Mike LaRocco (State Auto), Michael S. McGavick (XL Group), Glenn M. Renwick (Progressive), Glenn Spencer (Lockton), and Hank Watkins (Lloyd's North America).

The 2020 Ole Miss Insurance Symposium will take place March 18-19 at the Inn at Ole Miss. For information on how to register for the Ole Miss Insurance Symposium, please contact Ms. Kathy Shoalmire at kshoalmire@bus.olemiss.edu.

Outstanding Supporter Award

As part of the Insurance Symposium, the Ole Miss RMI program recognizes one individual each year for long-term involvement and commitment to the program by awarding the "Outstanding Supporter Award." Past recipients of this award include:

Joel Wood - 2018
Dudley Wooley - 2017
Clay Cavett - 2016
Clinton Graham - 2015
Preston H. Gough, Jr. - 2014
Ike S. Trotter - 2013
John P. Wells - 2012
Ronald P. Tubertini - 2011
Harper M. Young - 2010
M.B. "Snooky" Williams - 2009
Dan W. Webb - 2008
Robert P. Arnold - 2007
Millicent Workman - 2006
C.D. "Red" Galey - 2005
Thomas J. Joyner - 2004
Thomas G. Quaka - 2003
W.M. "Bill" Bryson - 2002
Van E. Hedges - 2001
J. Lamar Maxwell - 2000

Outstanding Student Service Award Winners

The Symposium luncheon is a forum for the recognition of a student that has provided outstanding service to the program. Past honorees include:

Kristen Miller, 2016
Sydney Hedberg - 2015
Sean England - 2014
Ryan Herget - 2013
Chase Miller - 2012
Melanie England - 2011
Will Moorer - 2010
Jennifer Rose Adams - 2010
Margaret Britt - 2009
C. Blake Wiedman - 2008
Benjamin M. Brewer - 2007
Jack W. Smith - 2006
Brandon S. Sherman - 2005
Andrea L. Cox - 2004
Enomwoyi "Noe" Woods - 2003
Kristy Phuong Truong - 2002
Ross E. Webster - 2001
Kara J. Spanelli - 2000